Gå till innehåll

Fem vanligaste misstagen manusförfattare gör!

jonkanon

Jag snubblade över detta på nätet och tänkte dela med mig till er :)

Det är från: http://www.absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?t=133480

Heya, guys. I'm new here, but I thought y'all would like this article (which you can also read at my Script A Wish Blog). I've read literally thousands of spec scripts, and there are a surprisingly small amount of mistakes that writers commonly make...

-

I read screenplays for a living. Hundreds and hundreds of screenplays.

There are times when I sit down, curl back the title page over the brads, and know from a split-second glance at the first page that this script will be totally and profoundly unsellable.

Other times, it takes longer.

But when it comes to mistakes that writers make, it's true what the TREMORS poster (and, yanno, Ecclesiastes) said: There's nothing new under the sun.

It's sort of heartbreaking, seeing the missteps that cause aspiring screenwriters to faceplant just as they're extending their hand to Hollywood.

Writing a spec script consumes months, sometimes years. Yet all that head-and-heartache often seems to come undone around a shockingly common choir of faults.

Want to know how to sell a spec screenplay? Perk up your ears, kids. These are, in no order particularly, the top five mistakes that spec screenwriters make.

-

MISTAKE #1: They use camera directions.

Let me simultaneously grab my megaphone, bullhorn, soapbox, and bully pulpit, and trumpet this announcement once and forever:

MODERN SPEC SCRIPTS SHOULD NEVER CONTAIN CAMERA DIRECTIONS.

(And by this, I mean both explicit camera directions and implicit camera directions: Using "IMAGES OF" or "WE SEE" is every bit a camera direction as "CAMERA TRACKS.")